Leaky Diapers

I’m going to publish a better post later today, but for now I am in need of help (again). 

The last three nights, Eirinn has leaked through her diapers over night.  Well, not through them, but she has spilled over them.  The poor thing wakes up soaked, top and bottom.  I have cut down the amount she drinks at night; nothing between dinner and her bedtime bottle, and I’ve even reduced the amount of milk in her bedtime bottle.  But nothing seems to be working.  She is going from her nap until bed (about 4 until 7:30) without peeing at all, but it seems she is saving all the liquid she consumes throughout the whole afternoon until bedtime and just fills the diaper.

She is in Pampers, size 4, which is supposed to fit 22 to 36 lbs.  She weighs about 27 lbs, so I know she’s not too big for them.  I do them up as tight as possible without winding her and they are pulled up as high as I can wretch them.

I’m not sure what to do.  It’s really frustrating because I am the Worlds Biggest Loather of Doing Laundry and we do One Jamas and Two Jamas (wearing pajamas two days in a row), normally.  This, obviously, can’t be done when One Jamas become Wet Jamas.

So, HELP!!!  Do you have any suggestions of what to do?  Bigger sized diapers?  Overnight diapers?  Put her in a food dehydrator and then swath her in cotton batting and cling wrap?

6 Responses to “Leaky Diapers”


  1. 1 Carly October 22, 2007 at 10:57 am

    (Creepily, as always with our two daughters, Lucy is doing this exact same thing lately.)

    I’d bump her up to the size 5. They go from around 25-ish lbs and up, so they would not be swimming on her. We did this not so much because of capacity, but because the legs of the size 4s were cutting into Lucy’s chubby baby legs. But they would definitely give more hold.

    Be sure to pull the diaper up around and above her belly button as far as possible, too, which I imagine you are.

    Outside of that and the liquid techniques you mentioned, I dunno what else you can do.

  2. 2 Stefanie Thrasher October 22, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Definitely up the size to size 5. Even if it’s just for bedtime and use the 4’s for daytime. I found my kids were alway wearing bigger size they they “should” be according to the package. Owen is actually in 4 as well and has been for a while. I was even thinking of upping him to a 5 for the nights.

    The other thing is I found Aleah leaked in the Pampers so I switched her to Teddy’s Choice (which are cheaper too!!) that you can find at Loblaws. She wore those from the time she was in size 3 all the way until she was out of diapers at 2. I swore by them! Owen however, (I guess because he’s a boy and needs better coverage in the front) leaked through the Teddy’s Choice and I have him in Huggies. If you want to stick with the Pampers though, I’m sure a size 5 at night would do the trick.

  3. 3 swimmom October 22, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    The same thing happened with my son, until I cut his drinks off at lest an hour before he went to bed and then no matter what changed his diaper right before he went to bed. I don’t know if the changing the diaper worked, but cutting of the drinks did!! I think diaper leaking is inevitable!

  4. 4 Anonymous Husband October 22, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    You could always do more laundry. 🙂

  5. 5 Colleen October 23, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Brady has always leaked through Pampers at night, or even naps. I would change brands, even just for the evenings. I like the Costco brand. I use them all the time. I also vote for going up a size,in whatever brand you decide to use.

    Best of luck!

  6. 6 girlymama October 24, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Trade up, size 5s. I always found that my kids started exploding out of their diapers WAAAYYYY before they were outside the recommended ‘weight limits’ for the diapers. The sizes overlap too, so you might find that size 5s begin at 27 lbs.
    I also sometimes got nicer diapers for nighttime, since there is little that is more annoying than changing sheets and clothes at 3am.


Leave a Reply

