Did you hear that ‘slap’? That was my head.

Just when I think I have Eirinn all figured out, she goes and does a 180 on me and I’m stuck at the beginning again, wondering ‘who is this child, and where did she come from?’  Sometimes it’s excruciating periods of baby-gone-wild, in the most horrible, rotten ways.  Days on end of temper tantrums, defiance, and Angry Face.  Fights about diaper changes, eating, naps, everything.  And I bat about .500 – half the time I stand my ground and she caves (as in she throws a fit and I ignore her), the other half I resort to compromise, begging, or tears (sometimes all three).

Other times, like this weekend, she snaps out of her devil-in-training attitude and wakes up an absolute angel.  I think we’ve had the best two days in a row since she was born.  She has been joyous, charming, hilarious, agreeable, obedient, lovable and loving.  She has eaten all her meals with little fuss, her diapers have been changed with only minor battles, and, best of all, has been napping like she should be – well.  These naps I credit to a “new” technique I discovered on Saturday.

I’m not sure why it took me so long to try this “new” technique, seeing as how blatantly obvious it is, and, no, it doesn’t involve any form of tranquilization.  Eirinn has been an excellent nighttime sleeper for about 6 months (at least the going to sleep part – she still will wake up on some nights once or twice).  Our routine has been that I announce that it’s bedtime, ask her if she wants a baba and that she should say ‘night night’ to daddy.  We take her baba, blankie and soother up to the spare room, I rock her while she drinks and I watch some boring adult show for background noise.  I then walk with her laying down (but awake) into her room, tuck her in, brush her cheek and walk out without saying a word.  Done.  Baby asleep.  Now, why on earth haven’t I been doing this for naptime, instead of rocking, begging, pleading, crying (both of us), until she finally gives in, which usually takes at least a half an hour?  Stupid, stupid, stupid.  After I did the nighttime routine for naptime, Eirinn slept for two straight hours both Saturday and Sunday.  Of course this worked.  Why wouldn’t it?  I quite literally slapped myself in the forehead for not doing this since day one.  I wonder if Delightful Eirinn would have emerged more often if these wonderful naps had of been more of a daily occurance.  Probably.  Duh…

Anyway, moral of the story:  1) Eirinn is going through an angelic phase and I’m soaking up every minute before Beelzebub’s apprentice returns.  This reappearance will coincide with the next tooth/illness/growth spurt, I’m sure. 2) Eirinn’s mommy was an idiot.  Idiot mommy has been replaced with enlightened mommy.  For now.  Until the next 180.

0 Responses to “Did you hear that ‘slap’? That was my head.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

