Durham Mom’s Night Out

What do you do to unwind?  I usually just splat myself onto the couch, turn my brain off and watch reality television until my eyes start burning. 

My friend Carly and I have been wanting to do something a little more…better (yes, I just said ‘more better’.  It’s my blog, deal with it).  We were going to join a bowling league, but decided against that because our futures are uncertain (ooooo…mysterious). 

So, we got to thinkin’ and thought about starting our own social group for moms looking for a time out.  And from this thought grew Durham Mom’s Night Out.  We’re going to round up as many interested moms from the Durham Region (or further, if they want to commute) and meet weekly, engaging in a rotating schedule of activities – book club, scrapbooking, movies, and physical activities like bowling or pool.

I don’t know about any one else, but my husband plays hockey once a week and in the summer he will also be playing soccer.  What do I get to do?  Watch the tube until my eyes bleed?  While that actually does sound appealing, I think it’s important to have an out-of-the-house activity to keep from going stir crazy.  And to meet new people.  And have someone to talk to and relate to about our kids/husbands/work.  And, most importantly, to have fun!

 If this sounds like something you’ve been looking for, send me an email at durhammoms@gmail.com to let me know.  We’ll be having a Durham Mom’s Night Out launch/meet and greet soon, so I’ll keep you posted.

0 Responses to “Durham Mom’s Night Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

